Find a CALA-Accredited Lab
Glenna LaBerge, accompanied by Wo Yuen, CAEAL President, presents to John Lawrence (right).

Dr. John Lawrence


The first recipient of the Don LaBerge award is Dr. John Lawrence.

John is a most worthy recipient of this award, being one of the three signatories of the application to incorporate CAEAL in 1989 along with Serge Villard and Don Laberge. His interest in quality assurance is clearly what ties him so closely to CAEAL. He was CAEAL’s first President and has been a director and officer of the Board ever since. John received his university education with a B.Sc. and Ph.D. from the University of Bristol, and then moved to North American academia at the University of Ottawa and Colorado State before starting his career with Environment Canada. Over more than thirty years with Environment Canada, John has held various positions with a focus on research, analytical methods and aquatic ecosystems. He has mentored many students and post-doctoral fellows and published many reports and scientific papers including several on quality assurance for environmental monitoring.

Glenna LaBerge was invited to present the award to John Lawrence.

Congratulations, John!

« View all recipents

Meet Our Other Recipients

This site uses cookies to collect browser information that helps us ensure the best experience for our users. Read our Privacy Policy. Accept