News RSS Facebook LinkedIn

Contact | Feedback | Site Map | FAQ |



Canadian Association for Laboratory Accreditation Inc.

Building Laboratory Excellence

CALA Annual General Meeting

Note: all documents are posted as they become available in Adobe Acrobat reader format (.pdf), unless otherwise noted.

Previous AGMs:



Tuesday, June 6, 2017

RSVP: Please complete our RSVP form for the AGM


Four Points by Sheraton
1496 Hollis Street, Halifax NS B3J 3Z1

Lunch: Admirals North Room 11::30am - 12:15pm
: Admirals South Room 12:15pm - 3:30pm

Room Rate: $195.00
Room Block Cut-off Date: May 2, 2017
Reservation Code: CALA

Reservations Department at 1-800-350-6945
Web link Website to make Reservations:

Shuttle Reservations


All times are Eastern Standard Time (EST)


Draft AGM Agenda

Other Attachments:


2016 Draft Minutes

Annual Report

2016 Annual Report

Presenation AGM slide deck
Program Reports
Treasurer's Report Treasurer's Report
Financial Statements

2016 Audited Financial Statements


Volunteer Awards

  • Departing Directors' Awards

    AL COLODEY Served as a Director from 2009-10 and from 2011-17
    ANNA MARIE MACFARLANE Served as a Director from 2014-17
    KLAS OHMAN Served as a Director from 2011-17

  • Recognition Awards for those unable to attend in-person
  • Serge Villard Award
  • Don LaBerge Award

Board Chair, Dave Schellenberg, departing Director award to Al Colodey.

Board Chair, Dave Schellenberg, departing Director award to Anna-Marie MacFarlane.

Board Chair, Dave Schellenberg, presents 15 year recognition award to Rhonda Schop.

Highlights of the 2017 Annual General Meeting


Mr. Ray McCurdy, City of Toronto, received the Serge Villard Award, for his outstanding commitment and contributions to the accreditation program. Ray has been an active assessor in the CALA Accreditation program since 2003. During that time, he conducted a total of 29 site assessments and 14 of these as a lead assessor. In addition, he has also been an active member of the CALA advisory panel since 2007. Ray’s continuous involvement and commitment over the years have contributed greatly to CALA’s overall success as an accreditation body.

Board Chair, Dave Schellenberg, presents to Ray McCurdy.

View previous recipients.



The Don LaBerge Award was presented to Mr. Michael Brodsky. This award is presented for individual lifetime achievement and commitment to the work of CALA. He has been involved in a lengthy list of capacities at CALA over the years, including as:

  • an accreditation assessor  (since 2000)
  • a director and vice-chair on the Board of Directors (2010-2016)
  • a member of the Advisory Panel  (since 2003)
  • a member of the Program Committee  (since 2003)
  • a Training Facilitator (since 2010)
  • a significant contributor to program policy development (ongoing)

It is truly an honour to recognize an individual who has so selflessly given of their time and expertise to the work of CALA and ultimately for the benefit of the entire laboratory community.

Board Chair, Dave Schellenberg, presents to Charlie Brimley on behalf of Michael Brodsky.

View previous recipients.




Membership Number: A value is required.
  * Board and Accreditation Council Members should RSVP but will be contacted under separate cover regarding attendance at their respective meetings.
Email Address: A value is required.Invalid format.
Arrival Date:
Departure Date:
2016 AGM Activities

I am interested in attending the following activities, please contact me using the email address provided above:

AGM Event
Date Time (EST)
Please select an item. Tues-6-Jun

See agenda above