News RSS Facebook LinkedIn

Contact | Feedback | Site Map | FAQ |



Canadian Association for Laboratory Accreditation Inc.

Building Laboratory Excellence

CALA Annual General Meeting

Previous AGMs:



Monday, May 15, 2006


Hotel contact and reservation information

DoubleTree International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport
655 Dixon Road
Toronto ON   M9W 1J3  

Phone: (416) 244-1711
Fax:     (416) 244-8031

Phone: 1 (800) 222-TREE

The EnviroAnalysis conference rate is $140 for single/double occupancy, $160 triple, and $180 for quad occupancy. Quote ENV before April 13, 2006 to reserve these rates.


1:30 pm to 4:00 pm


Agenda (.pdf)

Motion of Responsibility (.pdf)


2006 Minutes (.pdf)


Program Reports

Assessments and Accreditation (.pdf)
Proficiency Testing (.pdf)

Quality and Training (.pdf)

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer's Report (.pdf)

President's Report

President's Report (.pdf)

Financial Statements

2005 Audited Financial Statements (.pdf)


Guest Speaker:

No guest speakers are planned because the AGM is held in conjuction with EnviroAnalysis 2006.



Highlights of the 2006 Annual General Meeting


The recipient of the 2006 Serge Villard Award is Ms. Linda Neimor.

Ms. Neimor has a B. Sc. From the University of Winnipeg and has been employed in the environmental public and private sectors since 1974. She has 22 years experience in performing inorganic and organic tests on environmental and industrial hygiene matrices, and for the past ten years has worked in the private sector quality assurance field at the local and corporate level.  She is a member of the AIHA EMLAP Advisory Panel and EMPAT Task Force.

Ms. Neimor started assessing on behalf of CAEAL in 1999, and since then, has volunteered her time on 19 assessments – and led 10 of them.  By the luck of the draw, she has been evaluated in this role at least twice – once by the State of Georgia and once by APLAC - and both times, demonstrated her strengths as a Lead Assessor and technical expert.  She is a RABQSA certified assessor, and has been a Member of the CAEAL Advisory Panel since 2002.  In her role on the Advisory Panel, she always has made time to provide expertise to staff, and her advice is always well-grounded and practical. 

Congratulations, Linda!

Serge Villard Award

CAEAL President, Wo Yuen, presents to Linda Neimor.



The first recipient of the Don LaBerge award is Dr. John Lawrence. 

John is a most worthy recipient of this award, being one of the three signatories of the application to incorporate CAEAL in 1989 along with Serge Villard and Don Laberge.  His interest in quality assurance is clearly what ties him so closely to CAEAL.  He was CAEAL’s first President and has been a director and officer of the Board ever since.  John received his university education with a B.Sc. and Ph.D. from the University of Bristol, and then moved to North American academia at the University of Ottawa and Colorado State before starting his career with Environment Canada.  Over more than thirty years with Environment Canada, John has held various positions with a focus on research, analytical methods and aquatic ecosystems.  He has mentored many students and post-doctoral fellows and published many reports and scientific papers including several on quality assurance for environmental monitoring.

Glenna LaBerge was invited to present the award to John Lawrence.

Congratulations, John!

Don LaBerge Award

Glenna LaBerge, accompanied by Wo Yuen, CAEAL President, presents to John Lawrence (right).